Bartholomew wins PRO, Denniston wins Amateur at season finale

The 2016 season finished strong at Skydive Paraclete XP with 37 competitors vying for for the top spots not only at this meet, but for overall season standings.
The meet started off with Zone Accuracy in crosswind/quartering tailwind conditions. Matt Shull jumped into the lead in the pro class while John Lopez took the lead in the amateur class. The winds picked up over limits after the completion of Zone accuracy and we took the afternoon off and returned to complete distance at the end of the day.

Photo by Tony Efird

Photo by Tony Efird

Saturday evening was the end of season dinner at PK’s Bar & Grill where we celebrated the retirement of Golden Knight Greg Windmiller.
Sunday morning was sunny skies and onto the speed event. quartering tail winds made for some fast runs. Amatuers Johnny Gunn and Rory who were leading the pack after day one both got zeros in the first round of speed and dropped down in the pack. The pro class saw Curt Bartholomew, Matt Shull, Albert Berchtold, Sven Jseppi, and Joe Abeln battling for the medal spots.
amatIn the Amateur class Marcus Denniston took the Gold, followed closely by Nate Clark, while the Bronze medal went to Nick Peck from Deland.
pro podIn the Open class Curt Bartholomew locked up first place with his fourth victory this season, second place went to Matt Shull from the US Air Force, and Albert Berchtold took home the Bronze.
Big thanks to Skydive Paraclete XP for an excellent job hosting the meet. Special thanks to all the Judges, Performance Designs, and the US Army Golden Knights for all their help putting this meet together.

Stay tuned for the season wrap-up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>